Donald Trump is to hip-hop like Russell Simmons is to yoga?

That’s my theory. At least, having sat five feet away from Russell last Sunday and geekin’ at his patience in signing books after a hot yoga class. Now, with that plug out of the way, here’s one of the most rational pieces of media depicting that ‘Trump is actually the epitome of hip-hop and capitalism.’ It came via a WhatsApp from my brother Camilo Smith, a Columbia j-school grad based down in Houston, Texas, these days.

I have been saying that Trump’s the quintessential American opportunist, ladies and gentlemen. Now, someone with a larger platform than myself is saying it, too.

Remind me to quote from Mr. Simmons’  Nelson George-penned 2002 biography when you see me. Or ask Russell yourself if you catch him over at Tantris studio in West Hollywood (not from his Beverly Hills residence, I presume). It’s aight that Russ is about that yoga life and while I feel it may be perceived as a cult, I don’t think of that as a bad thing.

Although at $23 per class, it sure sounds a whole lot better than $200 per month.

More on this story later, I’m sure. Hey, The Source, you still do journalism?

Author: MrKandyba

Father, award-winning investigative journalist, content producer, bio writer and aspiring author. Proud alumnus of Cal State Northridge journalism department. Completing graduate certificate in public relations at University of Maryland University College to go with one in int'l trade.

Leave a Reply

